www.sdlsuite.com Forum Index www.sdlsuite.com
Discussion of technical aspects of the SDL Component Suite
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Implementing layers

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.sdlsuite.com Forum Index -> GeoPack
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jvgoor



Joined: 07 Sep 2011
Posts: 42
Location: Maasland, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 9:22 am    Post subject: Implementing layers Reply with quote

Layers are a fine way for showing additional information on a map. For example layers with gasstations or harbour facilities. We want to make heavy use of layers and are looking for tips and tricks when using the GeoPack Components.

1. What works best? Using the landmark functions and implement a set of custom landmarks. Or draw directly on the canvas?

2. Storage in the landmark xml or better in GeoDB?

3. Experience with large numbers of landmarks (POI's) and many different layers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hlohning



Joined: 08 Sep 2006
Posts: 277
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Layers can be implemented by assigning class numbers to the landmarks. So you can switch off and on all landmarks having a particular class number (see property LMClassVisible http://www.lohninger.com/helpcsuite/lmclassvisible_geomap.htm).

I would not recommend to draw to the canvas directly because you lose the ability to switch between classes (unless you implement this feature yourself).

One of our customers draws up to 100000 (hundred thousand) landmarks on a map, which works quite well from a speed perspective (I've seen this application). However the map is then cluttered with so many landmarks that you see no map any more.... so layering with class numbers is a good idea.

Regards,

Hans
_________________
Hans Lohninger
Software Development Lohninger
http://www.lohninger.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jvgoor



Joined: 07 Sep 2011
Posts: 42
Location: Maasland, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks. I now have a waypoint layer and a poi layer and can easily switch them on or off.

A can also select a waypoint in a grid and the corresponding waypoint (=landmark) will be highlighted.

Greetings,

Jaap
_________________
Jaap van Goor
Promanent b.v.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.sdlsuite.com Forum Index -> GeoPack All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group